unofficial cm page


News


CM Leaders Urged to Support Sineath, Dump Davis


AN OPEN LETTER TO THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND STEERING COMMITTEE OF THE CONFESSING MOVEMENT WITHIN THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH


Brothers and Sisters:

We write to urge you to join with us in supporting our brother in Christ, Charles Sineath, and the faithful congregation of First United Methodist Church of Marietta, Georgia. As you know, Atlanta Area Bishop G. Lindsey Davis has announced he will not be reappointing Dr. Sineath this year. Despite the bishop's claim that this is "a routine personnel transfer," it is clear that this action is a punitive measure against Dr. Sineath and the Marietta congregation for their bold and courageous stand against the blatant apostasy and rampant corruption within our United Methodist connection.

In the past, the Confessing Movement has embraced Bishop Davis as a supporter of evangelical causes within United Methodism. In fact, he was a featured speaker at the Tulsa conference last year. However, his deplorable conduct in dealing with Dr. Sineath and the Marietta congregation makes it clear that he is no friend of evangelicals.

Recently, the executive committee of the Good News Board issued a statement denouncing the bishop's action against Dr. Sineath. We implore you to do the same. Bishop Davis must be repudiated in the strongest possible way by evangelicals throughout our connection. Any ties with him, formal or otherwise, must be severed. The message to him and the whole Council of Bishops must be clear from all evangelical circles: Such punitive measures against pastors and local congregations will not be tolerated.

Now is the time for all United Methodist evangelicals to unite together in support of a pastor and congregation who are taking positive, faithful and decisive action against the corrupt and apostate church establishment.

Respectfully Yours in Christ,

Jake Barker JBarker663@aol.com
Charlotte Barker
Ellen Beebe LN4PRAYER@aol.com
Ron Biggerstaff rbigg@pcola.gulf.net
Lori Border tlborder@essex1.com
Dick Dalfiume rdalfium@binghamton.edu
Everett Enstine eenstine@aol.com
Sheila Enstine
Russ Fitch russellfitch@worldnet.att.net
James A. Gibson III osjude@ibm.net
William J. Hurst wiljeff@hotmail.com
Carson Daniel Lauffer carson@essex1.com
Dennis Buck Linton-Hendrick bonniel-h@navix.net
Joe McManus Joe@STCS-Net.com
Allen O. Morris concmths@foto.infi.net
Tim Paulk Tpaulk1@planttel.net
Jim Proctor Jimcaryl@aol.com
John C Quigley II jquigley@bigfoot.com
Glen Spann glen.spann@asbury.edu
Don Spruill donspruill@hotmail.com
Laurie Webster sawdust6@ix.netcom.com
A. Bruce Webster
Bob Howell  bh68104@uswest.net
Betty Howell
Steve Zinser xzins@excite.com


[Click] button If you would like to add your yourcomments.gif (1566 bytes)

<Back to News